Evaluation & Reflection (Spectacle)

Now that I have completed my artifact and I have had time to look back at it from a more objective view point, I comfortably believe that it fulfills its needs and portrays its message clearly. When I started this project I wanted to show people that we rely on technology too much and that we completely engross ourselves into our own virtual reality, with regards to this criteria, I believe I succeeded in this. After showing this film to my peers it did indeed make them stop and think about their relationships with their phone and many of them agreed with the concept that while they were on their phones, everything else became a blur. Some people disagreed with my choice of audio however did not offer any viable alternatives. Other feed back I gained was that it was perhaps too short, after explaining how long it took me and how aggravated I was by the time I had finished, they sympathized with the situation.             The final piece of feedback was a positive one, it was pointed out that because of the originality of my piece in terms of subject matter, and the techniques that I used, I had challenged myself and gone outside of my comfort zone.

This time my artifact did not fit into the universities criteria, although it did relate to spectacle, at only 50 seconds it falls just under the requirement of three minutes. Even with this in mind I think that the artifact portrays its message well, and more of the same may make the film monotonous and boring. I also believe that it relates to Debords theory about how society embraces the distractions without really understanding what they are being distracted from. I also believe that it shows that if people took some time to focus on their goals rather than be distracted by technology, then they would achieve much more success in their lives.

By prevailing over all obstacles and distractions, one may unfailingly arrive at his chosen goal or destination. (christopher Columbus)

Christopher Columbus quotes,2012. Wisdom of the wise [Online] available at:
http://www.wisdom-of-the-wise.com/Christopher-Columbus.htm
Accessed: 25th November 2013

About Each Moment Matters

My name is Paul Doughty and I am in my final year of a BA in Media Production.
This entry was posted in Research and Developent (360, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

